• Give GuanXi

    Articles, art, photography, poetry, events, fiction, gigs, happenings...
    GuanXi invites you to get involved.

    gilbert.guanxi@gmail.com

  • Get GuanXi

    Search FB: guanximag
  • GuanXi by Category

  • Previous GuanXi

  • Get GuanXi @

    At some places here and there.

  • Static GuanXi

RePat – Mike Leznoff

Remembering Taiwan:

So much fun, such good friends.
Riding a scooter to 11,000 feet and camping above the clouds before the most mighty sunset and sunrise ever seen. Plantains on the road to Sun/Moon lake.
Exquisite Buddhist monasteries, giant bugs and great gyms.
The hunt for food – the little sushi place in Dong-hai.
The pool. I’m rambling……

I wanted a new start: adventure, money, excitement, independence, a chance to see for myself who I was without constraints.
Beware what you wish for.

Taichung: The easiest place to make friends in the world.

White-water rafting in the mountains with Taiwanese Aboriginals – a culture that spans 10,000 years and populated the islands of the Pacific!
I wish I had explored that aspect of the island more.
I wish I could have immersed myself in the language and the culture more.

I can tell you that when you leave, you will light up at the opportunity to talk to fellow Mandarin speakers wherever they are – and they are everywhere. In Cambridge, in Vancouver, in Cardiff! It was an opportunity to communicate with others that I did not develop and which I regret every day.

Watermelon juice – it does not exist anywhere else in the world.
All-you-can-eat hot pot on a cold winters night? Only there.
Need a bike helmet? There’s a stand on the corner.

I miss it. Maybe I’ll come back, as I often fantasize.

Let’s all go south and camp on the beach at Kending in the off-season, when we can have the whole place to ourselves.

I have never heard Fur Elise the same way again, and will never again be hit in the face-shield by a flying fist-sized cicada. Can you send me some temple incense? Thanks. I miss you Taiwan,

Love,
Mike

懷念台灣:

樂趣如此多,如此的好朋友。
騎著摩托車前往11,000英尺高山上,並在可以欣賞日出及日落美景的雲端前露營,而通往日月潭的道路兩旁則是種滿了香蕉樹。
精美的佛教寺院、大臭蟲、大體育館。
尋覓食物 – 在東海的小壽司店。
泳池畔,我漫步著… …
我想要一個新的開始:冒險、金錢、興奮、自主性,有機會看到自己在沒有限制下的以前的我。
小心你所冀望的東西。
台中:世界上最容易結交朋友的地方
在山間與台灣原住民激流泛舟-住在太平洋的一個島嶼的人民,其文化已橫跨了一萬年!
真希望當時我曾更深入地探索這美麗的島嶼。
真希望我能夠讓自己更沉浸在台灣的語言及文化中。
我可以告訴你,當你離開時,無論在哪你都將有機會跟說中文的人種談天。即使是在劍橋、溫哥華、加的夫,他們無所不在!這是一個與人溝通的機會,然而我卻一點進步也沒有,而這也是我每天感到遺憾的原因。
西瓜汁 – 世界上只有台灣特有的飲料。
在寒冷的冬夜享用吃到飽火鍋?只有在台灣找得到。
需要一個自行車頭盔?街角就有一間店。
我想念台灣,也許有一天我會回來,因為我經常幻想。
在旅遊淡季時,我們一起去墾丁並在沙灘露營吧,沒有人擠人的困擾,讓我們感受整個大自然之美!
我再也沒聽過從垃圾車播出“給愛麗絲”,也不會再度被拳頭大小的蟬擊安全帽蓋,你能寄給我一些寺廟的香火嗎?
謝謝,我想念你,台灣。

愛,
麥可

Leave a Reply

